2015 University Champs Results + Trans Tasman Team


Recently the Victoria University Rowing Club travelled to Whanganui to compete in the New Zealand University Championship Regatta on the Whanganui River.

We had a successful regatta, coming away with 8 medals. We finished 5th on points overall and while we would like to better this result next season we are still proud of our results.

Our medal tally is as follows:


  • M Champ 1x: Luke Watts


  • W Tourny 4+: Adelaide Brown, Jessica Hickey, Morgan Tabuteau, Caitlin Nicholson, c Nikki Cryer
  • M Inty 4x+: Henry Lee, Fred Coughlan, Harrison Barker, Jack Gilpin, c Nikki Cryer
  • M LW 2-: Jack Gilpin, Brook Walker


  • M Tourny 8+: Trent Doyle, Callum Gray, Matthew Davies, Ben Cathie, Lucas Reed, Jack Young, Matthew Westbury, Ellery Demuth c Maddy Palmer
  • W Inty 4x+: Maya Williams, Frances Gray, Elyse Rothery, Kate Jordan, c Lauren McAndrew
  • M Nov 4+: Trent Doyle, Callum Gray, Lucas Reed, Matthew Westbury, c Maddy Palmer
  • W Tourny 8+: Adelaide Brown, Valerie Chan, Vanessa McCormack, Jessica Hickey, Eloise Watson, Frances Charlett-Green, Hannah Allison-Batt, Francesca Mills, c Maddy Palmer

Of note, we once again fielded a Mens Champ 8+ crew. Although having only spent a few weeks under this combination the crew came a close 4th behind Otago University. This was the strongest Mens Champ 8+ crew we have boated in some time and we are looking forward to building on this result next season.

Further to this, Victoria University student Luke Watts distinguished himself and was invited to trial for the New Zealand University squad to travel to the World University Games in South Korea. Kate Jordan, Johannah Kearney, Fred Coughlan, Kyle Malone, Harrison Barker, Henry Lee, Jack Gilpin and Brook Walker were all invited to trial for the New Zealand Trans-Tasman squad to compete against Australia in July. This is a great result for Victoria University and we wish these athletes all the best.

Victoria University Rowing Club did exceptionally well to have ten members successfully enter the NZU Trans Tasman Team following the announcement on 5 May. Those ten are:

  • Kate Jordan (Womens Eight)
  • Johannah Kearney (Womens Eight)
  • Luke Watts (Mens Eight)
  • Kyle Malone (Men Eigh
  • Henry Lee (Mens Eight)
  • Fred Coughlan (Mens Eight)
  • Brook Walker (Mens Lightweight Four)
  • Jack Gilpin (Mens Lightweight Four)
  • Lauren McAndrew (Womens Eight)
  • Sean Durkin (coach Mens Lightweight Four)